Adding markers to the map ...
St Nicholas Gardens

St Nicholas Gardens

1270 0 2 0 0
St Nicholas Gardens

Local Authority

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 01748 822328

Location

Address
Richmond
Postal Code
DL10 7EN
Local area
City
Main city or town, IE London

Parks OpenSpace

About Park Group
Founded as a medieval hospital but largely rebuilt in Tudor times, St Nicholas is the oldest continuously inhabited house in Richmond.

It has played its part in the long history of the charming cobbled market town, best known now for its Norman Castle, Georgian Theatre and popular walks above the tumbling river Swale.

St Nicholas Gardens

Roughly 7 acres, the gardens of St Nicholas were designed and planted by the Hon Robert ‘Bobbie’ James at the start of the twentieth century as a series of garden rooms divided by hedges and walls of local stone, reminiscent of and contemporary with Hidcote gardens.

A Formal Garden bounded by topiary hedges, a Cottage Garden, Rock Garden, Potager and Herb Garden and the Long Borders are amongst the remaining compartments.

A multitude of Old Roses contribute to the always Romantic ambience – St Nicholas is the home of R. gallica ‘St Nicholas’ and the vigorous rambler R. ‘Bobbie James’. From the approach to the Field Walk there are stunning views across the pastures where the highland cattle graze towards the ruins of Easby Abbey.

Wooden Gate - St Nicholas Gardens

After the death of Lady Serena James in 2000, St Nicholas became the home of Yorkshire sportsman Keith Schellenberg and his family. Keith was best known for his Captaincy of the Olympic British Bobsleigh Team in the ‘50’s and the Yorkshire Rugby team and for his long and successful motor racing and rallying career.

Fun Fair

Once a graveyard, this is now a quiet ornamental garden bordering the Parish Church of St Nicholas.
This was once part of the former churchyard of the parish church of St Nicholas. Plumstead, so-named for being a good area for fruit growing, became a fishing village and later its growing population included workers from the nearby Royal Arsenal. To serve the larger population further land for burial was purchased in 1860 and there were over 40,000 burials here, among them veterans of the Royal Artillery and Engineers; an unmarked grave is that of Daniel Cambridge, VC. In 1955, following its closure for burial, the churchyard south of the church was laid out as ornamental public gardens and gravestones were cleared largely to the perimeter.

Map

Swap Start/End