South Somerset District Council

South Somerset District Council

877 0 1

Local Authority

Contact Info

Phone Number
01935 462 462


Council Offices, Brympton Way
Postal Code
BA20 2HT
Main city or town, IE London

South Somerset is a local government district in Somerset, England. The South Somerset district covers an area of 370 square miles (958 km2)[1] ranging from the borders with Devon, Wiltshire and Dorset to the edge of the Somerset Levels. It has a population of approximately 158,000.[2] The administrative centre of the district is Yeovil.

The district was formed on 1 April 1974, and was originally known as Yeovil, adopting its present name in 1985. It was formed by the merger of the municipal boroughs of Chard, Yeovil, along with Crewkerne and Ilminster urban districts and the Chard Rural District, Langport Rural District, Wincanton Rural District and Yeovil Rural District.


Swap Start/End