Adding markers to the map ...
Shropshire Council

Shropshire Council

1084 0 1

Local Authority

Local Council

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 345 678 9000


The Shirehall, Abbey Foregate
Postal Code
Main city or town, IE London

Fun Fair

"Shropshire Council delivers a wide range of services to residents, business and visitors in Shropshire including: social care, education, libraries, planning, environmental health, leisure facilities, highways maintenance, street cleaning, parking, licensing, registration services and much more. Shropshire is a fantastic place in which to live, work, visit and learn. It has a clean and natural environment, communities who look out for each other, whether in our rural areas or within one of our historic market towns, excellent schools, low crime and opportunity for everyone. The quality of life brings people here and makes them want to stay. The council is one of the largest employers in the county. One of the most important things about working here is the knowledge that you’re working to help others and the real sense of achievement and purpose that brings."

Shropshire Council is the local authority of Shropshire (excluding Telford and Wrekin) in England. It is a unitary authority, having the powers of a non-metropolitan county and district council combined.It replaced the former two-tier local government structure in the non-metropolitan county of Shropshire on 1 April 2009, which involved its immediate predecessor, Shropshire County Council, and five non-metropolitan district councils – Bridgnorth District Council, North Shropshire District Council, Oswestry Borough Council, Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council and South Shropshire District Council. These districts and their councils were abolished in the reorganisation.The area covered by Shropshire Council is 3,197 square kilometres (1,234 sq mi), which is 91.7% of the ceremonial county of Shropshire. The remainder of the county is covered by Telford and Wrekin Council, which was established as a unitary authority in 1998. Shropshire is located in the West Midlands region of England, on the border with Wales.The council's seat is at Shirehall in Shrewsbury, the largest town (with a population of 70,600) in the unitary authority's area and historic county town of Shropshire. The council, however, has numerous offices across the county and area committees meet in the former district headquarters at Oswestry, Wem, Ludlow and Bridgnorth. The area covered by Shropshire Council is rural, with the second largest town being Oswestry with a population of just 16,600. Prior to the 2009 reorganisation, Shropshire was the least populated two-tier area in England.


Swap Start/End