Adding markers to the map ...
Rutland County Council

Rutland County Council

1117 0 1

Local Authority

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 1572 722577


Catmose House, Catmose Street
Postal Code
LE15 6HP
Main city or town, IE London

Fun Fair

Rutland County Council is a unitary authority responsible for local government in the historic county of Rutland in the East Midlands of England. The current council was created in April 1997. The population of the council's area at the 2011 census was 37,369. Formally it is a unitary district with the full legal title of Rutland County Council District Council, caused by a renaming of the District of Rutland using powers under section 74 of the Local Government Act 1972 at a special meeting of the council held on 1 April 1997. Although, as with other unitary councils, the council is technically a non-metropolitan district council, section 8 of the Leicestershire (City of Leicester and District of Rutland) (Structural Change) Order 1996[3] created a county covering the same area as the District of Rutland, and further provided that there would be no council for the County of Rutland. As a unitary authority, the council is responsible for almost all local services in Rutland, with the exception of the Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service and Leicestershire Police, which are run by joint boards with Leicestershire County Council and Leicester City Council.

"Rutland County Council was first established in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888 and ended in 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972, when Rutland was reconstituted as a district of Leicestershire. The new unitary authority is seen as a re-creation of the original Rutland County Council. The Local Government Commission for England in 1994 recommended that Rutland District (and Leicester City) should become unitaries and leave the two-tier Leicestershire.Rutland unitary authority came into existence on 1 April 1997. The council consists of 27 councillors, representing fifteen electoral wards of the county. It has all-out elections on a four-year cycle and follows a district pattern, with elections held in May 2007, May 2011, 2015 and 2019.


Swap Start/End