Adding markers to the map ...
Lewes District Council

Lewes District Council

1229 0 1

Local Authority

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 1273 471600


Southover Grange, Southover Rd
Postal Code
Main city or town, IE London

Fun Fair

Lewes is a local government district in East Sussex in southern England covering an area of 113 sq mi (290 km2), with 9 miles (14.5 km) of coastline.[3] It is named after its administrative centre, Lewes. Other towns in the district include Newhaven, Peacehaven, Seaford and Telscombe. Plumpton racecourse is within the district. There are 28 parishes in the district.The district was formed on 1 April 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972, and was a merger of the former borough of Lewes along with Newhaven and Seaford urban districts and Chailey Rural District.

Elections to the council are held every four years, with all of the 41 seats, representing 21 wards, on the council being filled. After being controlled by the Liberal Democrats since 1991, the Conservative party regained a majority at the 2011 election. However, subsequent defections of Conservative councillors to UKIP and the Liberal Democrats left the council in no overall control. In the subsequent council election on 7 May 2015, the Conservatives regained control with an increased majority and heavy losses for the Liberal Democrats. In July 2019, following the May election, an alliance of councillors from the Green, Liberal Democrat, and Labour parties, plus two Independents, took control of the council, with Green councillor Zoe Nicholson as Leader and Liberal Democrat Councillor James MacCleary as Deputy Leader


Swap Start/End