Isle of Wight Council

Isle of Wight Council

1032 0 1

Local Authority

Contact Info

Phone Number
+44 1983 821000


County Hall, High St
Postal Code
PO30 1UD
Main city or town, IE London

On 1 April 1995 the Isle of Wight Council was formed, and became the first Unitary Authority in England. The new authority took control of district council functions, retaining the county council functions of the previous county council.[2] The predecessor body to the Isle of Wight Council was the Isle of Wight County Council, which dated from January 1890

The Isle of Wight Council is a unitary authority covering the Isle of Wight near the South coast of England. It is currently made up of 40 seats. Since the 2017 election, the Conservatives have held a majority of 25 and appointed Cllr Dave Stewart as leader of the council


Swap Start/End