Adding markers to the map ...
Harrogate Borough Council

Harrogate Borough Council

1079 0 1

Local Authority

Contact Info

Phone Number
01423 500600


Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787
Postal Code
Main city or town, IE London

The Borough of Harrogate is a local government district and borough of North Yorkshire, England. Its population at the census of 2011 was 157,869. Its council is based in the town of Harrogate, but it also includes surrounding towns and villages. Including the cathedral city of Ripon and almost all of the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The most populous district of North Yorkshire, it is the county's fourth largest district, as well the seventh largest non-metropolitan district in England.

The district is part of the Leeds City Region. It borders seven other areas; the Craven, Richmondshire, Hambleton and Selby districts in North Yorkshire, the York unitary authority, and the Districts of Leeds and Bradford in West Yorkshire.The district was formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, as a merger of the Masham and Wath rural districts, and part of Thirsk, from the North Riding of Yorkshire, along with the boroughs of Harrogate and the city of Ripon, the Knaresborough urban district, Nidderdale Rural District, Ripon and Pateley Bridge Rural District, part of Wetherby Rural District and part of Wharfedale Rural District, all in the West Riding of Yorkshire.


Swap Start/End