Adding markers to the map ...
Hampshire County Council

Hampshire County Council

1451 0 1

Local Authority

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 300 555 1375


The Castle
Postal Code
SO23 8UJ
Main city or town, IE London

Fun Fair

Hampshire County Council (HCC) is the county council that governs the majority of the county of Hampshire in England. It provides the upper tier of local government, below which are district councils, and town and parish councils. The county council has 78 elected councillors, and is based in the county town of Winchester. Whilst they are part of the ceremonial county of Hampshire, Southampton and Portsmouth are unitary authorities, and therefore are not part of Hampshire County Council, with powers instead held by their respective councils. Hampshire County Council has been controlled by the Conservative Party since 1997.

The county council was formed in 1889, governing the administrative county of Hampshire. Alongside Christchurch, in 1974 Bournemouth was split into Dorset, as well as a number of minor border changes. Whilst they are now part of a unitary authority alongside Poole, they remain in the ceremonial county of Dorset. In the same reorganisation, the various boroughs, urban districts and rural districts in Hampshire were reorganised into thirteen districts for the purposes of local government, forming the lower tier below the county council. In 1997 Southampton and Portsmouth were split off into respective unitary authorities under the 1992 Local Government Act, and are therefore no longer part of Hampshire County Council and hold their own elections for their own councils, although they remain part of the ceremonial county of Hampshire. Since then there have been several attempts made at a form of devolution deal for Hampshire (and sometimes the Isle of Wight, historically part of Hampshire) as a whole, but have no so far been successful.


Swap Start/End