Hammersmith and Fulham

Hammersmith and Fulham

1482 0 1

Your contact Info

Phone Number
+44 20 8748 3020

Your Address

145 King St, Hammersmith
Postal Code
W6 9JT
Main city or town, IE London

Local Authority

Your Local Council

There have previously been a number of local authorities responsible for the Hammersmith and Fulham area. The current local authority was first elected in 1964, a year before formally coming into its powers and prior to the creation of the London Borough of Hammersmith on 1 April 1965. Hammersmith London Borough Council replaced Hammersmith Metropolitan Borough Council and Fulham Metropolitan Borough Council. Both had been created in 1900, replacing parish vestries. Fulham was an ancient parish covering broadly the same area as the current borough. Hammersmith was governed by a separate vestry from 1631 and was formally split off as a separate civil parish in 1834. They were joined for local government from 1855 to 1886 as the Fulham District of the Metropolis, governed by the Fulham District Board of Works

Hammersmith and Fulham London Borough Council is the local authority for the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham in Greater London, England. It is a London borough council, one of 32 in the United Kingdom capital of London. Hammersmith and Fulham is divided into 16 wards, electing a total of 46 councillors. The borough council provides some shared services with Kensington and Chelsea, and Westminster. The council was created by the London Government Act 1963 as the Hammersmith London Borough Council and replaced two local authorities: Hammersmith Metropolitan Borough Council and Fulham Metropolitan Borough Council. The council was renamed on 1 January 1980.


Swap Start/End