Gloucester City Council

Gloucester City Council

861 0 1

Local Authority

Contact Info

Phone Number
+44 1452 396396


92 Westgate St
Postal Code
Main city or town, IE London

Gloucester City Council is the local authority for Gloucester, which is split into 18 wards, with a total of 39 councillors elected to serve on the City Council. Following the last election in 2016 there were 22 Conservative Councillors, 10 Labour Councilors, and 7 Liberal Democrat councillors.

The current composition is 20 Conservative, 9 Labour, 9 Liberal Democrat, and 1 independent; the Liberal Democrats gained 1 seat from each of the Conservatives and Labour, and Conservative councillor Lee Hawthorne is currently suspended from the party. The district was formed from the County Borough of Gloucester on 1 April 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972. The parish of Quedgeley was subsequently added in 1991.


Swap Start/End