Bassetlaw District Council

Bassetlaw District Council

864 0 1

Local Authority

Contact Info

Phone Number
01909 534 999


Queens Buildings, Potter St
Postal Code
S80 2AH
Main city or town, IE London

Bassetlaw is the northernmost district of Nottinghamshire, England. The district is predominantly rural, with two towns: Worksop, site of the borough council offices, and Retford.

Bassetlaw was created as a non-metropolitan district in 1974 by the merger of the municipal boroughs of Worksop and East Retford and most of Worksop Rural District and East Retford Rural District following the passage of the Local Government Act 1972. Local Government in Nottinghamshire is organised on a two-tier basis, with local district councils such as Bassetlaw District Council responsible for local services such as housing, local planning and refuse collection and Nottinghamshire County Council responsible for "wide-area" services, including education, social services and public transport.


Swap Start/End